Workshop on Interoperability and Open-Source Solutions for the Internet of Things

Date: September 18, 2014 (a full-day workshop)
Location: Split, Croatia

In conjunction with SoftCOM 2014 ( The 22nd International Conference on Software, Telecommunications and Computer Networks.


Radisson Blu Resort, Put Trstenika 19, HR-21000, Split


The workshop is organised by the high-profile OpenIoT project with support from the European Commission under the 7th framework Programme.

Call for papers

The Internet of Things (IoT) can be seen as the next evolutionary step in the Internet life-cycle, with already more than 10 billion connected devices in 2013. However, to enable wide adoption and proliferation of IoT services, further development is needed in the area of interoperability and standardisation as well as the convergence of the Web and IoT standards in the M2M space, e.g., W3C SSN and OneM2M.  Moreover, we are witnessing the emergence of open-source solutions targeting the IoT and cloud integration which can further drive innovation and provision of utility-driven IoT services.

This workshop aims at bringing together researchers and practitioners from industry, academia, and standardisation bodies, to showcase their practical work, exchange ideas and experiences, discuss novel solutions and future development. Workshop participants will also find common ground for collaboration in the area of interoperability for the Internet of Things.

Topics of interest

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Architectures for the Internet of Things
  • Standards and the Internet of Things
  • Open-source solutions for the Internet of Things
  • Standardisation efforts in the M2M space
  • Web of Things and semantic interoperability
  • Mobility aspects of the Internet of Things
  • Quality of service aspects of the Internet of Things
  • Indexing, naming, and addressing the Internet of Things
  • Experiences and field trials of IoT applications
  • Geospatial and temporal aspects of IoT
  • Environmentally sustainable IoT
  • Software engineering practices and tools for the IoT
  • Context awareness in the IoT
  • Discovery of sensors, data streams and semantics in the IoT
  • Data provenance in the IoT

Submitted papers will be reviewed by three independent experts in the field. Post-workshop proceedings will be published in the Springer-Verlag series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (Springer).

Submission instructions

Authors are invited to submit original unpublished work, not currently under review by another conference, workshop or journal. Full papers are restricted to 16 camera-ready pages according to the Springer LNCS formatting style, including text, figures and references. Authors should use only standard fonts, i.e. Times Roman, Courier, Symbol, Helvetica or equivalent. Papers must be submitted electronically via the EDAS Conference Management System ( Choose the following track when submitting your paper: Workshop on Interoperability and Open-Source Solutions for the Internet of Things.

Detailed instructions on paper submission via EDAS are available at the SoftCOM paper submission site.

Important dates

Submission deadline (extended): July 21st 2014 (firm deadline)

Notification deadline: August 22, 2014

Final manuscript due: September 5, 2014

Program committee co-chairs:

Martin Serrano, INSIGHT, National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland
Ivana Podnar Žarko, University of Zagreb Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing, Croatia

Publication chair:

Krešimir Pripužić, University of Zagreb Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing, Croatia

Publicity chair:

Johan E. Bengtsson, AcrossLimits, Malta

Technical Program Committee:

  • Karl Aberer, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Payam Barnaghi, U. Surrey, UK
  • Vedran Bilas, University of Zagreb, Croatia
  • Jean-Paul Calbimonte, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Gino Carrozzo, Nextworks, Italy
  • Oscar Corcho, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
  • Philippe Cudré-Mauroux, University of Fribourg, Switzerland
  • Panos Dimitropoulos, SENSAP, Greece
  • Dimitrios Georgakopoulos, CSIRO, Australia
  • Armin Haller, CSIRO, Australia
  • Manfred Hauswirth, INSIGHT, Ireland
  • Reinhard Herzog, Fraunhofer IOSB, Germany
  • Darko Huljenić, Ericsson Nikola Tesla, Croatia
  • Prem Jayaraman, CSIRO, Australia
  • Ignac Lovrek, University of Zagreb, Croatia
  • Arndt Marylin, Orange, France
  • Patricia Martigne, Orange Labs, France
  • Maja Matijašević, University of Zagreb, Croatia
  • Elloumi Omar, Alcatel-Lucent
  • Mirko Presser, Alexandra Institute, DK
  • Enrico Scarrone, Telecom Italia
  • John Soldatos, AIT, Greece
  • Joerg Swetina, NEC Europe
  • Tajana Šimunic Rosing, University of California, San Diego, USA
  • Thomas Usländer, Fraunhofer IOSB, Germany
  • Arkady Zaslavsky, CSIRO, Australia